11:08 BST


linkedin icon

Young Professionals Meet-Ups in Poland Section play a significant role in the national IEEE community and are the biggest networking events dedicated not only to young professionals but also to students, scientist, industry representatives and everyone who seeks new international contacts.

This year the event was organized at the 22nd International Microwave and Radar Conference (MIKON 2018) which was a part of the 8th Microwave and Radar Week (MRW 2018). It was held on May 16, in Poznan (one of the Poland’s oldest cities) and have gathered nearly 130 attendees – IEEE and non-IEEE members, from countries like: Austria, Belgium, China, France, Germany, India, Italy, Pakistan, Poland, Russia, Sweden, Turkey, Ukraine, USA.

The meet-up has started at 6:00 PM and began with an opening speech from Piotr Graca (IEEE YP Chair, Poland Section) who also provided brief information about YP activities in Poland. Then, the welcoming speeches were given by Prof. Krzysztof Kulpa (MIKON 2018 General Chair), Prof. Mariusz Malinowski (IEEE Poland Section Chair), Prof. Dominique Schreurs (MTTS President) and Prof. Jacek Misiurewicz (AESS Representative, AP/MTT/AES Joint Chapter Vice-Chair). Their messages were also focused on the importance of IEEE as well as Societies membership in the professional life. Next, with more than 3 hours of networking all attendees had a chance to expand their personal and professionals contacts, learn about the IEEE, Societies and YP program benefits and discuss new career possibilities.

It should be emphasized that the event was organized by IEEE Poland Section – Young Professionals Affinity Group and co-sponsored by two IEEE Societies: Microwave Theory and Techniques Society (MTTS) and Aerospace and Electronics Systems Society (AESS). Thanks to their great support all participants could join the event for free and enjoy nice food and drinks.

The organizing YP team would like to especially thank the Tushar Sharma for his support in organizing the event and looks forward to future cooperation.

Contributed By :-

Piotr Graca – IEEE Young Professionals AG Chair, Poland Section