11:56 BST


linkedin icon

The 2016 IEEE CSICS will be held on October 23rd–26th at the Doubletree by Hilton Hotel located in Austin, Texas, USA.

The Compound Semiconductor IC Symposium (CSICS) covers GaN, GaAs, InP, SiGe, and nanoscale CMOS technologies and their application to microwave/mm-wave, THz, analog mixed signal, power conversion, and optoelectronic IC design. Now in its 39th year, CSICS has become the premier symposium at which to present state-of-the-art results in the areas of digital and optical communication, RF frequency of operation, RF output power, PA efficiency, and noise performance. The symposium also showcases the latest advances in emerging semiconductor device technology, modeling and manufacturing.

The symposium includes a three day dual track technical program, two short courses, two primer courses, and a technology exhibition. Also, for the 3rd year, CSICS will offer a student paper competition. The technical program includes 60-70 high quality papers and 4 topical panel sessions. This year, CSICS will open with a plenary session where S. Cremer from ST will discuss ST’s next generation Silicon Photonics platform, R.H. Olson III from DARPA will present Reconfigurable Electronics for Adaptive RF Systems. M. Schroter from Technical University of Dresden will give an update on the EU DOTFIVE project results. R.W. Heath Jr. from University of Texas at Austin will present Millimeter-wave for Future Commercial Wireless Systems and A. Neto from Delft University of Technology will discuss Advance Antenna Structures for THz Sensing Instruments. Our technical program also features invited papers from widely recognized researchers including configurable RF systems, GaN HEMT device characterization, CMOS ADC and VCSEL towards 100Gb/s optical fiber communications, SiGe as THz and Millimetre-wave platform, THz systems, millimetre-wave automotive radar, etc.

CSICS offers two in-depth short courses on Sunday, October 23rd . The first course, “Terahertz SiGe HBT technologies: Creating the winning design engine,” will be presented by leading experts Dr. Holger Ruecker (IHP) on SiGe Technology, Dr. Gerald Wedel (TU Dresden) on TCAD Device Simulation, Prof. Michael Schroter (TU Dresden/UCSD) on Compact Modeling, and Prof. Ullrich Pfeiffer (U. Wuppertal) on Circuits and Systems. The second course, “GaN and SiC technologies for Power Electronics,” will be taught by Dr. Jeffrey B. Casady (Wolfspeed) on the Technical and Reliability Maturity of SiC Power Diodes, MOSFETs, and Modules in 2016. We are in the process of finalizing the expert to teach GaN power devices and process.

On Sunday evening, Waleed Khalil (Ohio State) will teach an expanded Primer Course on Si RFIC design. This 3.5 hour lecture is intended for participants of all technical backgrounds who wish to learn or refresh their understanding of the fundamentals of designing the principal circuit building blocks in radio and radar SoCs. Among the blocks covered are PAs, LNAs, Mixers, VCOs, as well as integrated passives, with examples drawn from both CMOS and SiGe technology. The primer is an excellent way to start the symposium and is guaranteed to enhance attendee appreciation of the technical program. Also the second part of this Primer Course, CSICS is pleased to bring back, by popular demand, Dr. Hui Pan from Broadcom to give a short course on the design of high-speed ADC and DAC.

In recognition of the exceptional contributions made by students, CSICS is proud to hold its third Student Paper Competition. To participate in the competition, an eligible student must submit a regular contributed paper naming, at a minimum, themselves and their principal supervisor as authors. The Student Paper Finalists must present their own papers at their assigned symposium session.

For registration and up-to-date information please visit the CSICS website at www.csics.org. Further questions may be addressed to the Symposium Chair: Harris (Chip) Moyer, HRL Laboratories LLC. Ph: +1-310-317-5784 E-mail: hpmoyer@hrl.com

We hope you can attend,

2016 IEEE CSICS Organizing Committee

— Thé Linh Nguyen, CSICS 2016 Publicity Chair