Manos M. Tentzeris

Manos M. Tentzeris



Professor, School of ECE Georgia Institute of Technology

ECE Georgia Tech 777 Atlantic Drive Atlanta GA 30332-250


  • 2006, Outstanding Young Engineer Award, Past Awardees**
  • Member, IoT Working Group, Technical Coordination & Future Directions Committee, Standing Committees**
  • Member, TC-26 RFID, WIRELESS SENSOR AND IOT, Technical Committees**
  • Member, TC-8 RF NANOTECHNOLOGY, Technical Committees**


Professor Tentzeris was born and grew up in Piraeus, Greece. He graduated from Ionidios Model School of Piraeus in 1987 and he received the Diploma degree in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (Magna Cum Laude) from the National Technical University in Athens, Greece, in 1992 and the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science from the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor in 1993 and 1998.

He is currently a Ken Byers Professor in the area of flexible electronics with the School of ECE, Georgia Tech and he has published more than 600 papers in refereed Journals and Conference Proceedings, 5 books and 25 book chapters. He has served as the Head of the Electromagnetics Technical Interest Group of the School of ECE, Georgia Tech. Also, he has served as the Georgia Electronic Design Center Associate Director for RFID/Sensors research from 2006-2010 and as the GT-Packaging Research Center (NSF-ERC) Associate Director for RF research and the leader of the RF/Wireless Packaging Alliance from 2003-2006. Also, Dr. Tentzeris is the Head of the A.T.H.E.N.A. Research Group (20 students and researchers) and has established academic programs in 3D Printed RF electronics and modules, flexible electronics, origami and morphing electromagnetics, Highly Integrated/Multilayer Packaging for RF and Wireless Applications using ceramic and organic flexible materials, paper-based RFIDs and sensors, inkjet-printed electronics, nanostructures for RF, wireless sensors, power scavenging and wireless power transfer, Microwave MEM’s, SOP-integrated (UWB, mutliband, conformal) antennas and Adaptive Numerical Electromagnetics (FDTD, MultiResolution Algorithms). He was the 1999 Technical Program Co-Chair of the 54th ARFTG Conference and he is currently a member of the technical program committees of IEEE-IMSIEEE-AP and IEEE-ECTC Symposia. He was the TPC Chair for the IMS 2008 Conference and the Co-Chair of the ACES 2009 Symposium. He was the General Co-Chair of the 2019 IEEE APS Symposium in Atlanta and the Chairman for the 2005 IEEE CEM-TD Workshop. He was the Chair of IEEE-CPMT TC16 (RF Subcommittee) and he was the Chair of IEEE MTT/AP Atlanta Sections for 2003. He is a Fellow of IEEE, a member of MTT-15 Committee, an Associate Member of European Microwave Association (EuMA), a Fellow of the Electromagnetics Academy, and a member of Commission D, URSI and of the the Technical Chamber of Greece. He is the Founder and Chair of the newly formed IEEE MTT-S TC-24 (RFID Technologies). He is one of the IEEE C-RFID DIstinguished Lecturers and he has served as one IEEE MTT-Distinguished Microwave Lecturers (DML) from 2010-2012. His hobbies include basketball, swimming, ping-pong and travel.

Research Interests

  • 3D-Printed/Inkjet-Printed RF Electronics, Batteries and Sensors
  • “Green” and sustainable energy harvesting (e.g. RF, mechanical, thermal, UV)
  • Nanotechnology-based Ultrasensitive Sensors
  • Origami Antennas and RF Modules with Morphing Characteristics
  • Novel Flexible Electronics & 3D Modules up to mm-wave Frequency-range (e.g.LCP)
  • Wearable and Implantable Wireless Body-Area Networks
  • “Smart Skin”, “Zero-Power” and “Smart Energy” Applications
  • Wireless Power Transfer and Localization Applications
  • Internet of Things Applications
  • Real-Time Multiresolution Algorithms for the Analysis and Design of Wireless Communication Front-Ends.
  • Novel RFID Antennas/Architectures for 13.56 MHZ/915 MHz/2.4 GHz Applications
  • RF Packaging (e.g. Flip-Chip, Embedded Passives)
  • Antenna Integration and Miniaturization Techniques
  • Adaptive Transient Analysis of Active Circuits


  • IEEE Fellow
  • 2019 Humboldt Research Prize
  • 2019 IEEE APS Conference Co-Chair
  • 2018 Intel IEEE ECTC 2018 Best Student Paper Award
  • 2015-present IEEE CRFID Distinguished Lecturer
  • 2010-2012 IEEE MTT-S Distinguished Microwave Lecturer
  • 2017 Georgia Tech Outstanding Achievement in Research Program Development Award
  • 2017 Archimedes IP Salon Gold Medal
  • 2016 Bell Labs Prize Third Award
  • 2015 IET Microwaves, Antennas and Propagation Premium Award
  • 2014 Georgia Tech ECE Distinguished Faculty Achievement Award
  • 2014 IEEE RFID-TA Best Student Paper Award
  • 2013 IET Microwaves, Antennas and Propagation Premium Award
  • 2012 Finland Distinguished Professor (Fi.Di.Pro.) Award
  • 2012 Architecture Award of Excellence, Architecture World Summit
  • 2011 RF-DNA Technology was Listed among the 25 featured “Science@Microsoft” Technologies highlighting the most significant achievements of Microsoft Reseach over its 20 years of activities
  • 2010 IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society Piergiorgio L. E. Uslenghi Letters Prize Paper Award
  • 2010 Georgia Tech Senior Faculty Outstanding Undergraduate Research Mentor Award
  • 2009 IEEE Transactions on Components and Packaging Technologies Best Paper Award
  • 2009 IEEE Antennas and Propagation Symposium (APS) Second Best Student Paper Award
  • 2009 E.T.S. Walton Award from Science Foundation Ireland
  • 2007 IEEE Antennas and Propagation Symposium (APS) Best Student Paper Award
  • 2007 IEEE International Microwave Symposium (IMS) Third Best Student Paper Award
  • 2007 IEEE International Symposium on Antennas and Propagation (ISAP) Poster Presentation Award
  • 2006 Asian-Pacific Microwave Conference (APMC) Award
  • 2006 IEEE-MTT Outstanding Young Engineer Award
  • 2004 IEEE Transactions on Advanced Packaging Commendable Paper Award
  • 2003 NASA Godfrey “Art” Anzic Collaborative Distinguished Publication Award
  • 2003 IBC International Educator of the Year Award
  • 2003 IEEE-CPMT Outstanding Young Engineer Award
  • 2002 International Conference on Microwave and Millimeter-Wave Technology Best Paper Award (Beijing, CHINA)
  • 2002 Georgia Tech-ECE Outstanding Junior Faculty Award
  • 2001 ACES Conference Best Student Paper Award
  • 2000 NSF CAREER Award
  • 1999 Technical Program Co-Chair of the 54th ARFTG Conference, Atlanta, GA
  • 1997 Best Paper Award, International Hybrid Microelectronics and Packaging Society
  • 1989 Papastavridios Greek Mathematics Excellence Fellowship
  • 1988-1992 Greek Government Academic Excellence Fellowships


Inkjet-Printed Electronics

In this talk, inkjet-printed UHF and microwave circuits fabricated on paper substrates are investigated for the first time as an approach that aims for a system-level solution for fast and ultra-low-cost mass production. First, the RF characteristics of the paper substrate are presented by using the microstrip ring resonator in order to characterize the relative permittivity and loss tangent of the substrate at the UHF band for the first time reported. A UHF RFID tag module is then developed with the inkjet-printing technology, proving this approach could function as an enabling technology for much simpler and faster fabrication on/in paper. Simulation and well-agreed measurement results, which show very good agreement, verify a good performance of the tag module. In addition, the possibility of multilayer RF structures on a paper substrate is explored, and a multilayer patch-resonator bandpass filter demonstrates the feasibility of ultra-low-cost 3-D paper-on-paper RF/wireless structures. Various examples of inkjet-printed nanostructures (e.g. CNT’s) on paper as well as benchmarking with other flexible materials (e.g., LCP) will conclude the talk.

Contact Manos M. Tentzeris

    Fields marked with * are required.