Gabriel Rebeiz

Gabriel Rebeiz



  • 2000, Microwave Prize, Past Awardees**
  • 2001 - 2003, Transactions Past Associate Editors, MTT Transactions, Publications**
  • 2003, Outstanding Young Engineer Award, Past Awardees**
  • 2010, Distinguished Educator Award, Past Awardees**
  • 2014, Microwave Prize, Past Awardees**
  • 2020, Microwave Prize, Past Awardees**
  • 2022, Tatsuo Itoh Award, Past Awardees**
  • Member, Future Networks Working Group, Technical Coordination & Future Directions Committee, Standing Committees**
  • Member, TC-27 CONNECTED AND AUTONOMOUS SYSTEMS, Technical Committees**


Gabriel M. Rebeiz (Fellow, IEEE) is a Professor of electrical and computer engineering at the University of California, San Diego. Prior to this appointment,
he was at the University of Michigan from 1988 to 2004. He received his Ph.D. from the California Institute of Technology. He has contributed to planar
mm-wave and THz antennas and imaging arrays from 1988-1996, and his group has optimized the dielectric-lens antennas, which is the most widely used
antenna at mm-wave and THz frequencies. Prof. Rebeiz’ group also developed 6-18 GHz and 30-50 GHz 8- and 16-element phased arrays on a single silicon
chip, making them one of the most complex RFICs at this frequency range. His group also demonstrated high-Q RF MEMS tunable fi lters at 1-6 GHz (Q> 200)
and the new angular-based RF MEMS capacitive and metal-contact switches. As a consultant, he developed the USM/ViaSat 24 GHz single-chip automotive
radar, phased arrays operating at X, Ku-Band and W-band for defense and commercial applications, the RFMD RF MEMS switch and the Agilent RF MEMS

Prof. Rebeiz is an IEEE Fellow, an NSF Presidential Young Investigator, an URSI Koga Gold Medal Recipient, the IEEE MTT 2003 Distinguished Young Engineer,
and is the recipient of the IEEE MTT 2000 Microwave Prize and the IEEE MTT 2010 Distinguished Educator Award. He also received the 1998 Eta-Kappa-Nu
Professor of the Year Award and the 1998 Amoco Teaching Award given to the best undergraduate teacher at the University of Michigan, and the 2008
Teacher of the Year Award at the Jacobs School of Engineering, UCSD. His students have won a total of 19 best paper awards at IEEE MTT, RFIC and AP-S
conferences. He has been an Associate Editor of IEEE MTT, and a Distinguished Lecturer for IEEE MTT and IEEE AP. He leads a group of 20 Ph.D. students and
5 Post-Doctoral Fellows in the area of mm-wave RFIC, microwaves circuits, RF MEMS, planar mm-wave antennas and terahertz systems, and is the Director of the UCSD/DARPA Center on RF MEMS Reliability and Design Fundamentals. He is the author of the book, RF MEMS: Theory, Design and Technology, Wiley (2003).

Contact Gabriel Rebeiz

    Fields marked with * are required.