Microwave Pioneer Award

Recognizes an individual or team, having made outstanding pioneering technical contributions that advance microwave theory and techniques, which are described in an archival paper published at least 20 years prior to the year of the award.



Kenneth Carr

for outstanding contributions in the field of microwave theory and techniques.

Kenneth L Carr received his BSEE from Tufts University in 1953. In 1992 he received the Dr. of Eng'g(Hon) from Wentworth Institute of Technology(WIT). In 1958 he cofounded Ferrotec serving as Technical Director and later President. He is responsible for the development the companies broad line of ferrite devices and MICs including the creation of Suspended Substrate. In 1970 M/A-Com acquired Ferrotec and Carr became Group VP and Tech'l Director where he established the Advanced Programs and Technology Center. In 1985, with the support of M/A-Com he founded Microwave Medical Systems(MMS) and in 2007, while maintaining his position at MMS he cofounded Advanced Cardiac Therapeutics (ACT). Carr has held several academic positions including 40 years as Trustee of WIT; 38 years as an Eastern Virginia Medical School faculty member; 10 years as an Overseer of Tufts College of Engineering and 8 years as Member of the Board of Overseers of The Supreme Judicial Court of Mass. He was made fellow of the IEEE in 1985 and in 1989 received the IEEE/MTT-S Application Award; 1959-86 Distinguished Microwave Guest Lecturer; 1985-91 Health Care Eng'g Policy Committee. In 1999 received the NIH/SBIR Tibbetts Award for Technical Innovation and in 1980 and 1983 he received NASA's Certificate of Recognition.