Microwave Application Award

Recognizes an individual or team of no more than five individuals for an outstanding application of microwave theory and techniques, which has been reduced to practice nominally 10 years before the award.



Matthew A. Morgan

for the creation of a new class of reflectionless filters.

Matthew A. Morgan is a Scientist with tenure at the Central Development Lab (CDL) of the National Radio Astronomy Observatory (NRAO). He has authored three books, over 60 papers, and 20 patents in the areas of monolithic microwave integrated circuit (MMIC) design, millimeter-wave system integration and packaging techniques, reflectionless filter development, high-speed serial communication, and ultrawideband millimeter-wave antennas. Dr. Morgan is currently the head of the CDL's Integrated Receiver Development program, and is involved in the design and development of low-noise receivers, components, and novel concepts for radio astronomy instrumentation in the centimeter-wave, millimeter-wave, and submillimeter-wave frequency ranges.