Microwave Application Award:

This award recognizes an individual or team for outstanding application of microwave theory and techniques. This year's recipient are **Renato Bosisio**, **Ke Wu and Ji Li.**



Ke Wu

"For proposing, demonstrating and developing the multi-port (six-port) interferometer digital radio for wireless communication systems and sensor applications."

Ke Wu received B.Sc. degree (with distinction) in radio engineering from Nanjing Institute of Technology (now Southeast University), China, in 1982 and D.E.A. and Ph.D. degrees in optics, optoelectronics, and microwave engineering (with distinction) from Institut National Polytechnique de Grenoble (INPG) and University of Grenoble, France, in 1984 and 1987, respectively. He is professor of electrical engineering and Tier-I Canada Research Chair in RF and millimeter-wave engineering at the Ecole Polytechnique (University of Montreal). He holds the first Cheung Kong endowed chair professorship (visiting) at the Southeast University, the first Sir Yue-Kong Pao chair professorship (visiting) at the Ningbo University, and an honorary professorship at the Nanjing University of Science and Technology, the Nanjing University of Post Telecommunication, and the City University of Hong Kong, China. He has been the Director of the Poly-Grames Research Center. He was the founding Director of the Center for Radiofrequency Electronics Research of

Quebec (FRQNT Regroupement stratégique) for 2008-2014. He has also hold guest and visiting professorship at many universities around the world. He has authored or co-authored over 960 referred papers, and a number of books/book chapters and filed more than 30 patents. He has already graduated 45 Ph.D and 71 M. Sc. A students. His current research interests involve substrate integrated circuits (SICs), antenna arrays, advanced CAD and modeling techniques, wireless power transmission and harvesting, and development of low-cost RF and millimeter-wave transceivers and sensors for wireless systems, security techniques and biomedical applications. He is also interested in the modeling and design of millimeter-wave photonic circuits and systems.

Dr. Wu is a member of Electromagnetics Academy, the Sigma Xi Honorary Society, and the URSI. He has held key positions in and has served on various panels and international committees including the chair of technical program committees, international steering committees and international conferences/symposia. In particular, he was the general chair of the 2012 IEEE MTT-S International Microwave Symposium. He has served on the editorial/review boards of many technical journals, transactions, proceedings and letters as well as scientific encyclopedia including editors and guest editors. He is currently the chair of the joint IEEE chapters of MTTS/APS/LEOS in Montreal. Dr. Wu is an elected IEEE MTT-S AdCom member for 2006-2015 and served as Chair of the IEEE MTT-S Transnational Committee, Member and Geographic Activities (MGA) Committee and Technical Coordinating Committee (TCC) among many other AdCom functions. He was the recipient of many awards and prizes including the inaugural IEEE MTT-S Outstanding Young Engineer Award, the 2004 Fessenden Medal of the IEEE Canada and the 2009 Thomas W. Eadie Medal of the Royal Society of Canada, the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal, the 2013 FCCP Education Foundation Award of Merit and the 2014 IEEE MTT-S Microwave Application Award. He is a Fellow of the IEEE, a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering (CAE) and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada (The Canadian Academy of the Sciences and Humanities). He was an IEEE MTT-S Distinguished Microwave Lecturer from Jan. 2009 to Dec. 2011.

Remaining awardee's photo and bio was not available at time of print.