Outstanding Young Engineer Award:

This award recognizes MTT-S members, who have distinguished themselves through technical achievements, service to the MTT-S, or a combination of both. Nominees must not have reached their 39th birthday and must be an MTT-S member at the time of nomination. This year's recipients are **Andrea Alu, Dimitrios Peroulis and Mona Jarrahi.**



Mona Jarrahi

"For outstanding early career contributions to the microwave profession"

Mona Jarrahi received her B.S. degree in Electrical Engineering from Sharif University of Technology in 2000 and her M.S. and Ph.D degrees in Electrical Engineering from Stanford University in 2003 and 2007. She served as a Postdoctoral Scholar at University of California Berkeley from 2007 to 2008. After serving as an Assistant Professor in University of Michigan Ann Arbor, she joined UCLA in 2013 as an Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering and the Director of the Terahertz Electronics Laboratory. Her research group focuses on Terahertz/Millimeter-Wave Electronics and Optoelectronics, Imaging and Spectroscopy Systems, and Microwave Photonics.

Prof. Jarrahi has made significant contributions to the development of ultrafast electronic/optoelectronic devices and integrated systems for terahertz/millimeter-wave sensing, imaging, computing, and communication systems by utilizing novel materials, nanostructures, and quantum well structures as well as innovative plasmonic and optical concepts. In recognition of her outstanding achievements, Prof. Jarrahi has received several prestigious awards in her career including the Presiden-

tial Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE); Grainger Foundation Frontiers of Engineering Award from National Academy of Engineering; Young Investigator Awards from the Army Research Office (ARO), the Office of Naval Research (ONR), and the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA); Early Career Award from the National Science Foundation (NSF); the Elizabeth C. Crosby Research Award from the University of Michigan; and best student paper awards at the International Microwave Symposium and International Symposium on Antennas and Propagation.

Prof. Jarrahi is a member of the editorial board of Journal of Infrared, Millimeter and Terahertz Waves and a member of the program committee of the International Conference on Infrared, Millimeter, and Terahertz Waves, IEEE International Microwave Symposium, International Workshop on Optical Terahertz Science and Technology, IEEE International Symposium on Antennas and Propagation, SPIE Photonics West Conference, and SPIE Optics + Photonics Conference. She also serves as a panelist and reviewer for National Science Foundation and Department of Energy and a member of the Terahertz Technology and Applications Committee of IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society. Prof. Jarrahi is a senior member of IEEE and SPIE and a member of OSA.